1.2 Composition of Prisons Authority

Section 9 (2) provides for the composition ofthe Authority as follows:
  • The Minister of Internal Affairs as its Chairperson
  • Members of the Authority are

    The Attorney General or his or her representative,
    The Commissioner General of Prisons,
    The Deputy Commissioner General of Prisons,
    Permanent Secretary Ministry for Public Service, and
    A Senior Officer In-charge of Human Resources at Uganda Prisons Service,
    Two persons appointed by H. E. The President to serve for 2 years but their term may be renewed
    The Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Internal Affairs shall be the Secretary to the Authority.